Catalogue

Record Details

Catalogue Search



Available copies

  • 10 of 14 copies available at BC Interlibrary Connect. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Terrace Public Library.

Current holds

1 current hold with 14 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Holdable? Status Due Date
Terrace Public Library SCO (Text) 35151001103340 Adult Fiction Volume hold Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780062937728 (paperback)
  • Physical Description: 357, 13 pages : map ; 21 cm
  • Edition: First United States edition.
  • Publisher: New York : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2020]

Content descriptions

General Note:
Originally published as Finding Clara in the United Kingdom in 2020 by Hutchinson, an imprint of Random House UK.
Summary, etc.:
"For readers of The Alice Network and The Lost Girls of Paris, an immersive, heart-pounding debut about a German heiress on the run from British authorities, who discovers dark secrets about her family's past in post-World War II Germany"-- Provided by publisher.
Clara Falkenberg, once Germany’s most eligible and lauded heiress, earned the nickname “the Iron Fräulein” during World War II for her role operating her family’s ironworks empire. It’s been nearly two years since the war ended and she’s left with nothing but a false identification card and a series of burning questions about her family’s past. With nowhere else to run to, she decides to return home and take refuge with her dear friend, Elisa. Narrowly escaping a near-disastrous interrogation by a British officer who’s hell-bent on arresting her for war crimes, she arrives home to discover the city in ruins, and Elisa missing. As Clara begins tracking down Elisa, she encounters Jakob, a charismatic young man working on the black market, who, for his own reasons, is also searching for Elisa. Clara and Jakob soon discover how they might help each other—if only they can stay ahead of the officer determined to make Clara answer for her actions during the war. Propulsive, meticulously researched, and action-fueled, The German Heiress is a mesmerizing page-turner that questions the meaning of justice and morality, deftly shining the spotlight on the often-overlooked perspective of Germans who were caught in the crossfire of the Nazi regime and had nowhere to turn.
Subject: Heiresses > Fiction.
Homecoming > Fiction.
Fugitives from justice > Fiction.
Germany > Social conditions > 1945-1955 > Fiction.
Genre/Form: Suspense fiction.
Psychological fiction.
Historical fiction.

Additional Resources